Lamarca-Prosecco is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you.

Is Lamarca Prosecco Vegan

Lamarca prosecco is light and delicious sparkling wine that hails from the Italian Prosecco region. Today’s guide highlights whether or not this effervescent beverage is vegan-friendly. We also explore some alternatives to this sparkling wine and examine whether prosecco and other sparkling wines are typically vegan. Lamarca Prosecco 101 As a traditionally made sparkling wine, ... Read more


Lamarca prosecco is light and delicious sparkling wine that hails from the Italian Prosecco region.

Today’s guide highlights whether or not this effervescent beverage is vegan-friendly. We also explore some alternatives to this sparkling wine and examine whether prosecco and other sparkling wines are typically vegan.

Lamarca Prosecco 101

As a traditionally made sparkling wine, Lamarca prosecco is not a vegan-friendly option.

An Italian sparkling wine that’s made in Rieti province, there is only a small production area devoted to this wine. Cultivation is restricted to those vineyards situated near Rieti city.

Glera grapes are used to make Lamarca prosecco. The same grapes are used to make prosecco. This grape has a mineral quality and a crisp flavor that renders it especially suitable for the traditional production methods used for Lamarca prosecco.

Vinification presses and natural carbonation are central components of the production process. The wine juice is extracted from the mash with turntables that screw into place rather than centrifugal force.

The pressed wine is filtered through capsules with fine holes by carbon dioxide gas. This triggers the creation of miniature bubbles in the wine.

The fining process is intended to remove any residual impurities from the Lamarca prosecco. Many of the clarifying agents may come from:

  • Pork
  • Beef
  • Eggs
  • Fish

These clarifying agents are introduced to the wine. Proteins in these agents then bind to any impurities in the prosecco, causing it to sink. At the same time as these residual impurities are removed, so any animal products are also filtered out. The wine left behind is pure and clear, but it is not vegan-friendly.


Why Is Some Sparkling Wine Like Prosecco Not Vegan?

If you imagine wine as being made predominantly from grape juice, it might not be immediately obvious why some wines are not vegan-friendly.

Sparkling wine, like all foods and beverages, nevertheless presents some concerns for vegans and vegetarians.

There is no issue when it comes to the primary ingredients used to make wine. Indeed, when wine is made using the most traditional and natural methods, nothing but grape juice is used. When fermentation occurs, this utilizes wild yeast sourced from the grape skins, as well as from the air and the environment.

Modern wines are not always made using traditional methods, though. Many contemporary wines include a variety of extra ingredients, such as:

  • Water
  • Sugar
  • Yeast
  • Concentrated grape juice
  • Calcium carbonate
  • Sulfur dioxide
  • Synthetic flavorings
  • Potassium

Of the above ingredients, some are used far more commonly than others for wine production – sulfur dioxide and yeast, for instance.

If you examine the above list of added ingredients that may be used to make sparkling wines like prosecco, you will see that some present no issues for those looking to adhere to vegan principles.

Other added ingredients you may not be familiar with, or you may feel that there could be a vegan concern with sugar or yeast.

While some of these ingredients may give cause for concern, the primary issue with sparkling wine like prosecco comes in the form of the clarifying agents used during the refining process, as outlined above.

So, is this specific form of prosecco from the Lamarca region of Italy vegan or not?

Is Lamarca Prosecco Vegan?

No, Lamarca prosecco is not vegan-friendly. There are no animal products in the end result, Lamarca prosecco. This white sparkling wine is made from Glera grapes, so those ingredients are not the concern.

During the production process of Lamarca prosecco, animal products such as gelatin are utilized during the fining process. Animal proteins – egg whites and gelatin – speed up the production process because they bind to any impurities, filtering them out and leaving the resultant wine crisp and clear. While none of these animal products end up in your glass of vino, they are nevertheless used during the process. This means you won’t be able to drink Lamarca prosecco while remaining true to vegan principles.

Maybe you have noticed vegan prosecco and wondered how this sparkling wine manages to adhere to vegan principles. We’ll clear up any confusion right now.

Organic Vegan Prosecco

Many people who are vegan on ethical grounds have a heightened awareness of what harms the planet. It is not only animal products that are potentially dangerous. You can find many organic wines and organic proseccos that deliver similar benefits to those derived from organic foods.

Organic proseccos will not be grown using synthetic pesticides, damaging to both people and the environment. You won’t get any chemicals or additives in organic proseccos either.

Are organic wines vegan, though?

Most organic wines are also vegan, but this is not always the case. You can be sure that organic wines will not be fined with fish oil, egg whites, or any other animal products. This does not mean that all organic wines are vegan-friendly, and it does not mean that all vegan wines are organic either.

Is There a Vegan Alternative to Lamarca Prosecco?


Lamarca is a traditional prosecco maker, and they use the old methods of clarifying their wine.

Some modern vintners now use vegan-friendly products in all parts of the production process. If prosecco is clarified without animal products, it should be vegan-friendly.

You can now find brands who have vegan-friendly certification due to the mineral clarifiers they use to clarify wine. These include:

  • Carbon
  • Bentonite clay
  • Limestone clay

If you fancy some prosecco but you need to sidestep Lamarca prosecco due to the animal products used, consider these three vegan-friendly alternatives:

  1. San Leo Prosecco: This sparkling wine has extremely light bubbles with the flavor of green fruit. You’ll detect hints of kiwi, green apple, and a very slight hint of honey.
  2. Giol Prosecco: Giol prosecco comes in many different flavors. All of these are dry sparkling wines, with flavors of white fruits such as peach, and a pronounced floral aroma.
  3. Proudly Vegan: Proudly Vegan is a brand that offers a wide range of vegan wines, including a prosecco that’s vegan-friendly from start to finish.

Recommended Food Pairings with Lamarca Prosecco

Prosecco pairs well with your favorite finger foods and also works well for all types of relaxed dining.

This sparkling wine is light and super-refreshing. As such, the wine is capable of standing up to some pretty bold flavors when it comes to vegetables. If you pair this wine with more robust sauce and meat flavors, though, you might find it is overwhelmed.

Prosecco Lamarca works well as an aperitif or as a brunch beverage. Prosecco makes for a great summer dessert pairing. Despite this, prosecco is not recommended as a sweet dessert wine.

The wine has white fruit flavors, light bubbles, and floral traces. With a dry bite to it, prosecco makes a perfect pairing with:

  • Fresh fruit and cream
  • Seafood
  • Fresh vegetables
  • Roasted vegetables
  • Cheese – particularly Brie and other creamy cheeses
  • Pasta with white sauce
  • Canapes
  • Sushi
  • Crepes (sweet and savory)
  • Salad with vinaigrette dressing


We trust that today’s guide to Lamarca prosecco has cleared up any confusion about its vegan-friendly nature. While delicious, Lamarca is non-vegan.

That said, you can find many other types of prosecco that are vegan, meaning there is no need to completely avoid prosecco.

Before you head off, we suggest that you bookmark Slow Wine Magazine. Pop back soon for more informative guides on all aspects of wine and wine collecting. We’ll see you soon!